Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates and Resources »
Back to Top
Close Menu
Home » News-Events » News
News and Events Centre

Six Awarded for Excellence at Cave Hill

For Release Upon Receipt - Thursday, December 20, 2018

The diligence of six outstanding employees was recognised when they were presented with the Principal’s Award for Excellence at this year’s Annual Retiree and Staff Awards ceremony on Saturday, 15th December at the Cave Hill Campus.

The 2018 honourees were Dr. Damian Cohall, Deputy Dean Preclinical, Faculty of Medical Sciences (FMS), Dr. Ian Craig, Head, Department of Language, Linguistics and Literature, Dr. Alana Griffith, Lecturer, Faculty of Social Sciences, Ms. Dale Lynch, Director, Student Services (OSS), Mr. Wayne Dawe, Office Assistant and Ms. Teresacita Cox, Stenographer/Clerk, Faculty of Social Sciences.

Principals Awards for Excellence Image-12-19-2018.jpg

Dr. Cohall joined the Faculty of Medical Sciences when it was inaugurated ten years ago and was immediately given the demanding post of Phase-1 MBBS Curriculum Coordinator. He is credited with developing the Bachelor of Health Sciences and the MPhil/PhD in Pharmacology, which is the first PhD offered by the FMS Phase-1 Basic Sciences Faculty.

Now hailed as an “expert on marijuana research”, Dr. Cohall is the author of 19 papers published in peer reviewed journals and one book on Medicinal Plants; Chair of the FMS Evaluation and Promotions sub-committee; Chair of the FMS Quality Assurance Committee; Chair of the Campus Health Week Committee and a member of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Drug and Therapeutic monitoring committee. He earned recognition for his stellar contribution in the area of teaching, and dedication to the university and public service.

Dr. Ian Craig was commended by colleagues for his extraordinary leadership capabilities, creativity and developing administrative systems that allow for easy dissemination of information, communication and access to resources.

As Head of the Department, he created the income-generating Translation Bureau and completed frequent translations for Embassies and several regional institutions. Dr. Craig’s international research is grounded in the Caribbean Hispanic world, Latin American and Caribbean film studies and Cuban-Barbadian cultural connections. He was also celebrated for working tirelessly to provide immersion opportunities in Spain and Columbia for UWI students studying foreign languages.

In the last five years, Dr. Alana Griffith has played a key role in teaching the discipline of Sociology. To enhance her students’ performance she experiments with several pedagogies and engages in classroom action research. As a result, her teaching scores are consistently among the highest in her department and the Faculty of Social Sciences. Dr. Griffith has been able to deliver innovative and high quality teaching while still publishing within her discipline.

Her efforts were rewarded in June 2018 when she received a UWI Guild/CETL Award for outstanding contribution to student learning and more recently, along with Dr. Damian Cohall, the 2018/2019 Campus Award for Best Applied Research.

Director of Student Services Dale Lynch was praised for her commitment to student centeredness. Under her leadership over the past decade, the OSS has evolved into a caring and effective interface with the student body and adapting a holistic approach to student wellbeing.

The effective manager introduced the popular First Year Experience programme; the Cave Hill Disability Policy in 2013; and the Cave Hill Campus app in 2018, which was a resounding success with over 3000 downloads. She received the Award in the Senior Administrative/Professional Staff Category for Outstanding Service to the Campus and University community.

Both valued as pivotal forces in the Faculty of Social Sciences, Mr. Dawe and Mrs. Cox received awards for excellence in the Administrative, Technical and Service Staff Category. Mr. Dawe dedicated an impressive 40 years of service to the university and built a solid reputation as a disciplined, meticulous team player who was always willing to go the extra mile. Mrs. Cox is widely regarded as “the unofficial event planner” in the Department of Government Sociology and Social Work.

One of the highlights of her contribution is her leadership and management of the Department’s African Awareness Month of Celebrations. This activity was the brainchild and sole responsibility of Mrs. Cox and has grown to involve many of the nearby primary and secondary schools, whose students, on an annual basis, eagerly share their African performances with the Cave Hill community.

In addition to the six awards for excellence presented this year, Special Recognition Awards went to the UWI Seniors and Dr. Henderson Carter. Since 2001 the group of UWI retirees gave unyielding service to the campus and contributed in excess of $60,000 to the UWI Hardship Fund. Dr. Henderson Carter was deservingly recognized for his excellent stewardship of The UWI’s 70th Anniversary year of celebrations.

Altogether the University bade farewell to 17 former colleagues while 54 staff members received awards for long service ranging from 15 to 40 years.


At the annual Retirees and Long Service Awards (l-r): Mrs. Teresacita Cox, Mr. Wayne Dawe, Dr. Alana Griffith, Pro Vice-Chancellor and Principal Professor V. Eudine Barriteau, Dr. Damian Cohall, Dr. Ian Craig and Ms. Dale Lynch


Cave Hill Campus Chill Magazine
Browse our collection of publications, covering life at all four of our UWI campuses - Cave Hill, St. Augustine, Mona and Open.

Cave Hill

Reach Us

Have more questions?

Talk to The Office of Marketing and Communications
The Leslie Robinson Building


Tel: (246) 417-4000
Fax: (246) 417-4000


Office Hours:
Monday to Friday
8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m